Português English Persian
Today is Tuesday - September/25/2018
Proclamation of the Brazilian Republic - November 15, 1889

Proclamation of the Brazilian Republic - November 15, 1889

The Proclamation of the Brazilian Republic was a political-military uprising that occurred on November 15, 1889

Established the federalist presidentialist form of government in Brazil, overthrowing the parliamentary constitutional monarchy of the Brazilian Empire and, therefore, ending the emperor's sovereignty D. Pedro II. The Republic of Brazil was proclaimed.
The proclamation took place at Praça da Aclamação (now Praça da República), in the city of Rio de Janeiro, then capital of the Brazilian Empire, when a group of Brazilian army soldiers, led by Marshal Manuel Deodoro da Fonseca, deposed the emperor and assumed The power in the country.
A provisional Republican government was instituted that same day. Part of this government, organized on the night of November 15, 1889, Marshal Deodoro da Fonseca as president of the republic and head of the Provisional Government; Marshal Floriano Peixoto as vice president; As ministers, Benjamin Constant Botelho de Magalhães, Quintino Bocaiuva, Rui Barbosa, Campos Sales, Aristides Lobo, Demétrio Ribeiro and Admiral Eduardo Wandenkolk.